Quieting the Mind

Post meditations or discuss consciousness exploration here.
Orion

Quieting the Mind

Post by Orion »

I have been working at meditation for a few years now, only in the recent months with some success. Originally I tried random things that stories or movies referred to, so it was fairly crude form of meditation. Now I actually find tips and ways of meditating (probably the only reason I have any success at all :oops:).

Anyway, now that I have managed to get on the right track with my practice; the question I'm trying to get is: What is a good way to quiet the mind?
Just any tips or techniques, or perhaps I need to try methods to learn more on focus and concentration first.

The problem comes up that once my body is relaxed, my mind starts meandering on subjects that are far from the silence I want to reach. A number of things I read say that it is best to let the mind calm to the point that you just see images and such passing through or just peaceful emptiness.

Thankful for your time handball|
"Whoever undertakes to set himself up as judge in the field of truth and knowledge is shipwrecked by the laughter of the Gods." -Einstein

There are always facts, the best most of us can do is try to continuously adjust our opinions to become closer to those facts. For that, there is Science and Philosophy. One to argue facts and one to argue opinions. The result: The big bang is some sort of sexual innuendo resulting from your subconscious.
being-singular-plural

CREATE!!!

Post by being-singular-plural »

Dear Orion,