Totem

Discussion and questions about the magical properties and uses of crystals and stones.
Aderyn

Totem

Post by Aderyn »

Someone very close to me gave me a turquoise stone as their totem a few months back. I wire wrapped it and wear it every day on a leather rope (all the copper necklaces I have turn my neck green :?) and only take it off when showering. Since this person gave this to me as a totem, should I still cleanse it? I am worried it may remove their essence or something important, as silly as that may sound. I just started learning about crystals and stones this year and I'm enjoying learning about them.
Firebird
Site Admin
Site Admin

Re: Totem

Post by Firebird »

Hi there!
Actually you probably should cleanse it periodically, and give it a little sun. Not too much though, an hour is plenty. To clean it you can let it sit in rock salt or wash it in salt water, then give it a little smudge and let it have the sun bath.
I wonder if your stone is carved in some sort of animal form...this would make it a totem. I have a small bear carved out of turquoise for my energy of South totem. If it is raw rock charged for the purpose of protection then it is generally called an amulet. If it is charged for a specefic task like money draw, then it is likely a talisman.

Bb, Firebird
“There are things known and things unknown and in between are the Doors.”
― Jim Morrison
“All I have seen teaches me to trust the Creator for all I have not seen.”
― RWEmerson
:mrgreen:
Aderyn

Post by Aderyn »

Thank you for the information! I always forget that animal shaped stones are called totems. I was just referring to it as a totem since this stone has been with the person for years before they gave it to me, so I see it as a special part of this person who gifted to me. I also did some basic research on stones and since it is turquoise, that is meant for protection, correct?

I will try the cleansing information you provided. :} Thank you, Firebird!
Firebird
Site Admin