Altars...Help Plz

General chit chat and discussions here.
All are welcome!
chatterbox661

Altars...Help Plz

Post by chatterbox661 »

i'm a newbie at all this so nobody know what i do, but most of the rituals i read about include using an altar, which i don't have as it would kind of give me away, does it make much difference if you have an altar or not so long as you have faith in the words???????
[GeekyPagan]

Post by [GeekyPagan] »

Your alter can be anything - from the ground under our feet (which is appropreate, Gaia is our Mother) to a cardboard box to a magnificent wooden deal with inlaid pentagrams and runes ;)

Whatever you feel comfortable with and whatever works well with you. Sometimes I like to use the ground beneath my feet. Helps me feel closer to the Goddess. Just be careful with candles and such. If you use the ground or a box or any other flamable object use proper caution and make sure your candles are stable, as is your cauldron (if you use one) if there is a fire burning inside. Same with incense as well. We don't want burns or fires!

I hope this helped!

Blessed Be!
LaFiamma
Banned Member

Post by LaFiamma »

if you want your altar to be easily concealed, you have some options...

1. set up your altar on a dresser top, trunk, box etc where you can put the items away inside when not in use- you can buy wooden boxes of many sizes at craft stores, usually pretty inexpensive too- and embelish them any way you like- or if you like to go more elaborate, places like Pier One Imports and the like often have large jewlery boxes that are really beautiful- pier one has a gorgeopus enameled metal one lined in blue velvet that I've been drooling over for a while now