Year and a Day Study

Feel free to copy this information to your Book of Shadows.
Aderyn

Year and a Day Study

Post by Aderyn »

I just learned about Year and a Day Study. What are your thoughts on this? I'm very interested in this way of learning, I tend to learn best with assignments and guidance than searching randomly on my own. The gentle encouragement from others in a classroom-eqsue setting seems to get me motivated. :P

I am very new to learning about Wicca and Paganism, though I am stumbling and discovering my spiritual path more and more each day. :) Would this be something I should embark on? Or should this study only be for people who know for certain they are on the Wicca or Pagan path? Look forward to your replies.

<3,
Aderyn
Siona

Re: Year and a Day Study

Post by Siona »

The year and a day study period is usually a part of Wicca, particularly in group settings, but some solitaries take it on as well. (Some other witches and pagans might use the year and a day format, but it's not universal to all witches and pagans.) You don't have to be certain that whatever path you're looking at is the one you want to stick with, it's really more like a study and trial period, and a formal dedication or initiation into a coven generally comes after that period, if the person wishes to continue. The year and a day gives you time to study, practice, and experience the path, and from there you can judge whether or not it's right for you.

Are you looking at a specific year and a day course somewhere?
Aderyn

Post by Aderyn »

Right now I'm open to just about anything. I'm trying to figure out who I am spiritually and I feel I'm in this metamorphic time in my life. I don't really have a mentor, just friends that listen to me and give me advice and pointers from their spiritual experiences. I am opened up to a whole new world of spirituality and I'm not sure where to start!
Sakura Blossom

Post by Sakura Blossom »