Animal Encounters

Discussion about pets, familiars, animal totems, animal spirits, pet ghosts, and more. All animal talk, crazy and normal, is welcome here.
Middleagedseeker

Animal Encounters

Post by Middleagedseeker »

:) Greetings all! I have been coming into contact with an awful lot of hawks and turkey buzzards for close to a year now. And just last month a huge vulture landed on my neighbors roof and I swear it sat there watching me for the longest time, then flew off and came right back and sat and stared directly at me. It almost felt like it was trying to communicate with me? Chickens and ducks also were coming to me on a regular basis for months, but have since disappeared. I'm still a newbie when it comes to paganism. As my username says it, I'm a Middleagedseeker. Does anyone with more experience know if this is a particular Goddess communicating with me?
azriel

Re: Animal Encounters

Post by azriel »

The first thing that pops into my mind is the fact all of these animals are birds, so the element of air might be calling to you or you may simply have a very strong affinity with our avian brethren. As for whether a deity is trying to contact you, is there a particular pantheon that you feel drawn too? This might help you gain a better understanding of where to look.

One pantheon that holds most of the birds you mention in reverence are the Egyptians. The hawk is associated with Horus, and all of his various incarnations. The vulture relates to Nekhbet, the patroness of Upper Egypt and a protector of the Pharaoh. Finally, the duck or goose is related to the earth god Geb.

I do not know what pantheon draws your interest but this was the first one that I could think of that included most of the birds you mentioned.

I hope you find out more about the messages being sent to you!

Azriel
^-^~
Unfold your wings and take off into the sky
Before you're burned, become the sun
Blow, oh wind... It guides you into the sky
Before your whole self is taken away