psychology vs faith

General questions and conversations about astrology.
Rae

psychology vs faith

Post by Rae »

im studying psychology. we actually just finished the unit on astrology and pseudosciences (fake sciences).. even though everything about psychology and practical science points out the fact that all of it is fake, i cant help belive it - its in my blood to have faith in the supernatural.
i believe things that arent able to be proved right or wrong.. but how do i keep believing it when i also believe the theories in psychology... this is just a general conversation about astrology - i have no real questions because i dont need to know anything.
being-singular-plural

Post by being-singular-plural »

Hi Rae,

It sounds like there is a budding philosopher in you. These are great questions. The white-robed age of science needs to disavow what they term "psuedo-sciences" in order to maintain their dominant power in this age. All else that came before must be written off as "un-truth" so that the scientific community can stay central and keep generating funding. Lest we forget the inherent capitalism involved in science. For this reason it is suspect. A mystic who is bent on making money from her mystical skills is also suspect. Thus, the problem is not with this theory or that theory, but with the underlying impulse "to be right" over and above someone else. All is a lesson in the human ego. The scientific ego thinks it has power and certainty but as all paradigms shift, they will soon discover what Socrates always knew" "We Know NOTHING!!!"