Year and A Day?

Feel free to copy this information to your Book of Shadows.
Naudia Threng
Banned Member

Year and A Day?

Post by Naudia Threng »

So, I've never officially started my year and a day. Though I've been studying for almost two years, I want to start my official year and a day soon. Any tips? Also, I have no idea what exactly supposed to do during my year and day.
O Goddes, all praise to you. Ta em hotep, anekh hrak. Lady Isis, I adore you. Nebet aset, tu a atu.
Naudia Threng
Banned Member

Re: Year and A Day?

Post by Naudia Threng »

Ive looked at the books and stuff that go along with it, but in my opinion that takes away from the journey. The only problem is, i dont know what to do everyday!
O Goddes, all praise to you. Ta em hotep, anekh hrak. Lady Isis, I adore you. Nebet aset, tu a atu.
corvidus

Post by corvidus »

I would think the basic year-and-a-day for a shamanic practice would be something like meditating to a drum or rattle for at least a half-hour every day, while meditating on shamanic concepts (life, death, plants, minerals, animals, etc).
Naudia Threng
Banned Member

Post by Naudia Threng »

I was hoping to start my shamanic and wicca year and day. Since Shamanism is a path rather than a religion.
Vesca

Post by Vesca »

The Year-and-a-day thing is pretty Wicca-Centric. It's not really a thing in shamanism, as shamanism is a lifelong journey and no real shaman will ever call themselves a master.

I never did a year-and-a-day (because I'm not Wiccan), but from what I've heard from friends in the past the actual journey is supposed to encompass some particulars and the books should actually help you figure out what it is you should be focusing on over the duration.

If you're able to, it may be well worth your time to at least read through a few of the books to see what it is they're talking about and maybe pick bits and pieces out of the ones that seem to "click" with you.