Substituting Spell/ritual Ingredients

Feel free to copy this information to your Book of Shadows.
gypsyflame

Substituting Spell/ritual Ingredients

Post by gypsyflame »

Merry meet everyone! I have a question about substituting spell/ritual ingredients. I'm fairly new to the Craft and still fumbling my way through a lot of things. The ritual I'm looking to do calls for a mix of dried meadowsweet and oak bark to be burned as incense. I don't have a problem with the oak bark, as there are oak trees all around my house, but the meadowsweet seems to be in short supply. Since it is a simple ritual for honoring the Goddess, I was wondering if I couldn't substitute some other incense all together. I particularly like using Dragon's Blood in the rituals I've done so far as I like the way it smells. Anyone have any thoughts on this?

Thank you in advance and Blessed Be!
SnowCat
Banned Member

Re: Substituting Spell/ritual Ingredients

Post by SnowCat »

Hi gyspy. I think intent matters more than precise ingredients. I like Dragons Blood incense. While you wait for other members to weigh in, will you stop by our intro area please? Thanks!

Snow
Daughter of Sekhmet
gypsyflame

Post by gypsyflame »

SnowCat wrote:Hi gyspy. I think intent matters more than precise ingredients. I like Dragons Blood incense. While you wait for other members to weigh in, will you stop by our intro area please? Thanks!

Snow
Done and done! :)
Jenny Crow

Post by Jenny Crow »

Maybe do some research on the goddess you're going to honour and find out what scents she likes or what flower(s) and plants and trees then you can utilize one of them :)
Becks

Post by Becks »

I agree with Jenny and Snow both. Is there an aspect or face of the goddess in particular that you identify with? Maybe find a correspondence that works.