What crystals should I consider getting first?

Discussion and questions about the magical properties and uses of crystals and stones.
OnceInABlueMew

What crystals should I consider getting first?

Post by OnceInABlueMew »

So I'm a total newb when it comes to crystals and stones and gems. Frankly, I'm a newb at everything witchy but that's a story for another thread.
So I have a little bit of extra money knocking about on my Amazon and I'm wondering as a newbie witch, what would be the best crystals to think about getting ? Obviously I don't want to buy a crystal and find out it only has uses in sea witchery when I live several miles from the ocean, you feel?
So what stones could I begin with, and can common stones found underfoot have magickal properties at all? Even glass?
Thank you, peace and blessings!
=Mew=
SpiritTalker
Banned Member

Re: What crystals should I consider getting first?

Post by SpiritTalker »

You"ll just have to pick one's you like. It's a personal choice. Possibly a good start is one each for grounding, healing and cleansing. Grounding/shielding stones are commonly the black ones. Green & red one's heal. White or yellow cleanse. Blue and purple lean toward the psychic senses. Clear quartz is all-purpose. There are always exceptions. Shapes like spheres and pyramids affect performance. Spheres radiate all-around, evenly, gently. Pyramids focus. Rods or wands even more so.

Anyone who works passionately with stones will have personal favorites. And sometimes these are just plain rocks. Yes, all stones have something to offer. Stones hold and store energy until something dislodges it. Ordinary stones with unique features will suggest their own special uses.

As far as glass, or man-made stones, "gold stone" comes in brown, green, blue and purple (hard to get) and is just fun. It sparkles because of the copper, which makes it a good piece for telepathy and out of body travel.

Palm-stones and thumb-stones refer to the size.